What do the rules, guidelines and experts say about Asensio’s penalty and Rodrygo’s goal?
In the 77th minute, the ball hit Asensio after a free cross, hitting him in the chest and then bouncing off his elbow. After a minute, the referee was called to the VAR monitor, where he imposed a penalty kick for the hand after it bounced off the Spaniard’s body.
Juanfe Sanz with Chiringuito, an expert referee from the program and a journalist with connections to the Arbiters’ Technical Committee, points out that the penalty was correct because Asensio’s play was in line with the second point in the section on playing with the hand in the Rules of the Game: the player unnaturally enlarged his body by moving his hand that was not justified by the movement of the player’s body. This is the main argument of experts speaking about the correct decision of the judges.
On the other hand, those who do not agree with the decision refer to the guidelines for the Spanish judges referred to Asensio himself mentioned in his Twitter post. In the guidelines that were drawn up after the summer camp of judges [pełne do zapoznania się tutaj]we read that:
“Referees WILL NOT PUNISH the following hand plays:
[…]4. The hand immediately after the ball is played by the same player
Moreover, as shown in many cases on Twitter, a conference between referees and journalists ahead of the start of the season showed some examples where wider and higher handballs were never penalized after the same player played the ball. This was also heard by La Liga players during the meetings with the referees in the summer. This was also mentioned by Thibaut Courtois, who stated that in his opinion such a hand would not be whistled in the Champions League for this reason..
As if that was not enough, in the guidelines we can read that if the situation is on the border or raises considerable doubts, then you should assess what blocked the hand stroke and what its effect was:
“A novelty in the guidelines is the addition of a provision that when playing with a hand is on the verge of a violation, referees are recommended to evaluate the effect of the play, i.e. to analyze where the ball would have arrived if it had not been stopped with the hand. This aspect is then intended to tip the balance in favor of whistling the offense or refraining from punishing. However, this only applies to so-called gray shares, not black and white and obvious from the point of view of the regulations and the above guidelines ”.
Definición de NO MANO que nos explican a principio de temporada …
Increíble que hoy sí… pic.twitter.com/ZSWTnGcu0u
– Marco Asensio (@ marcoasensio10) October 30, 2022
In this situation, you can add two insights from nightly Chiringuito. Rafa Guerrero, a former referee working for the program, emphasizes that in his interpretation it is not a penalty, because Asensio makes a move to the body and tries to protect himself from a surprising ball, which his rivals did not play before him. In addition, program experts indicated that Asensio’s behavior is so natural that Bueno and Kroos, who were right behind him, made similar movements with their hands to protect their bodies. Interestingly, Cristobal Soria – former Seville manager, Real hatter and fanatic of Leo Messi and Barcelona – stated that for him it was not a penalty, and if he had not been dictated, journalists defending the judges would have easily defended such a decision of the arbitrator on the basis of the regulations.
To sum up, everyone can judge for himself what prevails in this situation: unnatural hand position or a ball hit in the hand after being played by the same player. VAR found a clearly unnatural hand position, which Melero López agreed with at the monitor.
* * *
In the 89th minute Rodrygo scored the 2-1 goal, but the referee on the pitch canceled it, showing that the goalkeeper had the ball under control and the Brazilian fouled him. When the goalkeeper has the ball under control. The provisions of the Game 2022/23 translated by the Polish Football Association into Polish say that:
A goalkeeper is considered to be controlling the ball with his hand (s) when:
● has the ball between his hands or between his hand and any surface (e.g. the field of play, his own body) or if he touches it with any part of the hand or arm, except when the ball rebounds off the goalkeeper or has made a defensive parade,
● has a ball lying on an open, outstretched hand,
● bounces the ball on the ground or tosses it upwards. ‘
Referee López made the decision alone on the pitch and showed that Gazzaniga covered the ball with his hand. Rodrygo kicked her after Girona’s goalkeeper raised his hand and tried to tug the ball towards him with his fingers, leading to him only touching it with two fingers and not covering it. The main photo of the article is from Getty Images and shows the moment just before the ball is kicked.
No hay dudas. Gol legal.
Si no hubiera VAR sería un error, con VAR, estamos hablando de robo.pic.twitter.com/J3h9xcqCfE
– CR7STIANISMO🇪🇸 (@ Cr7stianismo_) October 30, 2022
Journalists argue whether the goalkeeper actually had control of the ball at this point and whether the defensive parade provision had not entered into force. The referee experts headed by Juanfe Sainz, however, are practically in full agreement that the goal was incorrect, because according to the rules, the goalkeeper had control of the ball (in the sense that the ball was only under his hand when he covered it with his hand and Rodrygo could not attack him at all).
A dozen or so days ago, Girona canceled a similar goal against Almeria. Rubi, the Almería coach, said at a press conference after the match that he asked the referee if the decision in favor of his team was correct, and he was to tell him that if the goalkeeper has his hand over the ball, he controls it and the opponent cannot touch it .
To sum up again, everyone can judge for himself whether Gazzaniga still had control over it after lifting his hand from the ball. The referee on the pitch canceled the goal and VAR did not express any objection in this situation.
#rules #guidelines #experts #Asensios #penalty #Rodrygos #goal