Officially: Russia will not take part in the EURO 2024 qualifiers

The UEFA Executive Committee met today on the Croatian island of Hvar, and one of the main items on the agenda was the approval of the EURO 2024 qualifying procedure. The tournament will be held in Germany in summer 2024 and will be attended by 24 teams. We present part of the UEFA announcement on the qualifiers for this tournament, which will start in March 2023:

“The procedure for the EURO 2024 qualifying draw, which will take place at noon on October 9 in Frankfurt, can be summarized as follows:

  • Germany as the host of EURO 2024 automatically qualifies for the final tournament and therefore will not take part in the qualifying draw.
  • All Russian teams are currently suspended in accordance with the decision of the UEFA Executive Committee on February 28, 2022, which was subsequently confirmed by the Sports Arbitration Court on July 15, 2022. Therefore, Russia will not take part in the EURO 2024 qualifying draw.
  • The 53 participants in the elimination draw will be divided into 10 groups: 7 groups with 5 teams and 3 groups with 6 teams.
  • Ten group winners and ten runners-up teams will qualify for the final tournament. The remaining three places will be settled in the playoffs to be played in March 2024.
  • The 53 participants in the qualifying rounds will be seeded according to the overall ranking of the League of Nations 2022/23 and will be divided into 7 baskets. “

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.