Entry forbidden for Russians. There are first statistics after the introduction of restrictions

In early September, the prime ministers of Poland, Estonia, Lithuania and Latvia agreed on a joint regional position on limiting the possibility of Russians traveling to the European Union.

The initiative aims to mobilize the remaining Member States of the European Union and its institutions to adopt a common position on restricting, other than absolutely necessary, travel by Russian citizens.
– explains the Ministry of Interior and Administration.

Antanas Montvydas, deputy head of the Lithuanian State Border Service (VSAT) added that 1,461 Russians crossed the border at the same time, two times less than a week ago.

There were no incidents at the border between officers and people who were not admitted. Russian citizens understand our decisions and turn back.
Montvydas told the Lithuanian public broadcaster LRT.

According to VSAT data, as of Monday, Latvia has refused to let three Russian citizens in, and Estonia – about 10.

Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia have been restricting entry to their territory for citizens of Russia with Schengen visas since Monday. The authorities explain the decision, among others fear for national security and the moral aspect related to the war in Ukraine waged by Moscow.

Entry restrictions apply to Russian citizens, holders of short-stay Schengen visas who travel for purposes other than essential, e.g. for tourist purposes. The regulations, which came into force on September 19 in the three Baltic countries, provide for a number of exceptions, including humanitarian visits.

Restrictions on the entry of Russians to Poland

According to the regulation published in the Journal of Laws, Russians traveling for tourist, cultural, sports and business purposes will not be able to come to Poland from outside the EU’s external border. It is about an amendment to the ordinance of the Ministry of Interior and Administration on the temporary suspension or restriction of border traffic at certain border crossing points.

The restrictions will apply to Russians at all border crossings, and from September 26 also at airports and seaports.

The amendment comes into force on the day of its publication in the Journal of Laws. The later deadline for restrictions at airports and seaports (September 26) is expected to allow carriers to adapt to the new regulations.

The explanatory memorandum explains that if the carrier takes on board a person who does not have the right to enter the EU through the Polish border crossing, he will be obliged to transport them at his own expense.

The new restrictions do not mean a complete entry ban for Russians. The exceptions agreed by Poland and the Baltic states are upheld and are aimed at, inter alia, continuing to support opponents of Russian President Vladimir Putin. The exceptions include dissidents, humanitarian cases, as well as residence permit holders, transport drivers and members of diplomatic missions.

Additionally, in special cases, the commanding officer of the Border Guard post, after obtaining the consent of the Commander-in-Chief of the Border Guard, may allow foreigners to enter the territory of Poland.

Source: Niezalezna.pl, PAP

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.