Ancelotti named UEFA Coach of the Year! |

Carlo Ancelotti years later received an individual award as a trainer. During today’s Champions League group draw Carletto was named UEFA Coach of the Year (UEFA Men’s Coach of the Year Award). A dozen or so days ago, three finalists were announced who could win this trophy, and Jürgen Klopp and Pep Guardiola were also among the candidates. Italy received the most votes from a jury of 80 coaches from the clubs that participated in the UEFA 2021/22 Champions League (32) and UEFA Europa League group stages (48) group stages, as well as 55 journalists selected by the group European Sports Media.

The award in this formula has been awarded since 2020. Twelve months ago the winner was Thomas Tuchel, and two years ago Hansi Flick. In the future, the plebiscite operated under the name of European Football Coach of the Season. Ancelotti triumphed in it in the 2002/03 and 2006/07 seasons when he was Milan coach. An interesting fact is that in the future the statuette went to the coach of Real Madrid only once – for the 2001/02 season it was given to Vicente del Bosque

Carletto was the favorite to win as his team won three trophies last season – the Champions League, La Liga and the Spanish Super Cup. Ancelotti managed to build a family atmosphere and make almost all the players obey his orders, and there were virtually no conflicts in the team. The Italian repeatedly showed a cool head and was able to hit with changes when the Kings were in trouble, and then players such as Rodrygo, Fede Valverde and Eduardo Camavinga rushed to the rescue from the bench.

1. Carlo Ancelotti (Real Madrid) – 526 points
2. Jürgen Klopp (Liverpool) – 210 points
3. Josep Guardiola (Manchester City) – 108 points
4th Place: Oliver Glasner (Eintracht Frankfurt) – 75 points
5. Unai Emery (Villarreal) – 74 points
6. José Mourinho (Roma) – 51 points

UEFA awards:
Best Trainer: Carlo Ancelotti (Real Madrid)
UEFA President’s Award: Arrigo Sacchi

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *